The Blessings of Books IV

I never realized I was an introvert. In all honesty I always thought of myself as just plain odd. I’ve always enjoyed reading and being on my own. Interacting with too many people make me feel overwhelmed and I always better enjoyed jobs where I was working on my own or with only a few people.

Enter this book.20170430_180851

By the time Quiet came out and was making quite a bit of buzz, I had heard about introversion/extroversion. I initially thought what everyone else thought. ‘Introverts are shy recluses and extroverts love people.’ But then I was sitting with a group of writers at the conclusion of an ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) conference and my fellow author Ane Mulligan commented that being an introvert or an extrovert is not about how friendly you are. “It’s all about how you draw your energy,” she said.

And, being an introvert, that got me thinking and that led me to pick up Susan Cain’s book. Reading it, I felt affirmed. All those things about myself which I thought of as odd weren’t really odd at all. They just meant I was in introvert. It didn’t mean I didn’t like people, I just like them in doses, and I need time alone to re-charge.

Whether you are an introvert or an extrovert read this book. Extroverts will gain a deeper understanding of the other half of the population and introverts will feel more affirmed in who they are and even gain some insight into how to interact in our pro-extrovert society.carol and me

And I should add that there are some out there who identify themselves as ambiverts, like my dear friend and fellow author Carol Moncado. She doesn’t know a stranger, but at the end of the day she needs down time to re-charge. Which is why we are ideal roomies during ACFW Conferences. 🙂

So which are you? Introvert, extrovert, or ambivert?

Blessings!

signature2

