The Blessings of Books

Books have always been a blessing in my life. Fiction has often served as a needed escape in some of the darker moments in my life and non-fiction has blessed me with needed answers to life problems, be they trivial or consequential. There is no book in my life as important as the Bible. I can’t imagine not being able seek its comfort and wisdom. But over the course of my life there have been books which have: created an impact on me, called me to examine the difference between faith and religion, made me ask how best to represent Christ on earth, affirmed a key part of my personality, and have called me to a deeper walk with God. As you have probably guessed I’m talking about five different books. I would like to share them with you over the next few weeks and I encourage you read them if you feel the need. Now, let me introduce you to the first book, one that made a needed impact on my life: Choosing the Amusing by Marilyn Meburg

20170430_180751~2

Yes, I’ve had this book for quite a while. I first read it in college at a point when my world was quite stressful for a variety of reasons. This book unpacks Proverbs 17:22 “A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.” (NIV). Ms. Meberg eloquently talks about how we should laugh and why we don’t laugh. The first reading made such a difference in my life that I found myself reading it again and over the next several years I would often remind myself of its excellent points.

But to be honest, it’s been a while since I’ve picked up this book and as I write this I realize I need to hear again why “a cheerful heart is good medicine.

 

If you feel the need for a cheerful heart I’m happy to say this book is still in print and can be found at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

If you have a book that had blessed you please share it in the comments. I’ll be back next week with a new book to share.

Blessings!

signature2

 

